College Sports

Top College Football Players Who Never Won The Heisman Trophy

Joe Burgett - June 16, 2019
College Sports

Top College Football Players Who Never Won The Heisman Trophy

Joe Burgett - June 16, 2019

AJ McCarron, Alabama
Photo Credit: Roll Bama Roll

4. A.J. McCarron

On the surface, people may look at McCarron’s numbers and assume he shouldn’t be a Heisman winner. However, he put up huge numbers for an Alabama Crimson Tide QB and he was a true winner. The best thing McCarron did was also what he didn’t do. He rarely made a turnover, giving the Tide wins based simply on perfection. As a sophomore, he threw for 2,634 yards and 16 TDs.

Photo Credit: Houston Chronicle

As a junior, he’d throw for 2,933 yards and 30 TDs. Finally, as a senior, McCarron threw for 3,063 yards and 28 TDs. This resulted in two SEC Championships as well as two BCS National Championships. He also contributed to a third National Title earlier in his career. In 2013, he’d win the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award & The Maxwell Award. Sadly, he finished second in the Heisman race that year.

Vince Young, Texas
Photo Credit:

3. Vince Young

The architect for one of the greatest National Championship wins in history, the Texas Longhorns great known as Vince Young really deserved more respect. Young had two great years at Texas, 2004 & 2005. In 2004, he passed for 1,849 yards and 12 TDs with 1,079 yards and 14 TDs. In 2005, Young would destroy everything. He passed for 3,036 yards and 26 TDs with 1,050 rushing yards and 12 TDs.

Photo Credit: Fox Sports

This 2005 season led to Young winning the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, Davey O’Brien Award, Manning Award, Maxwell Award, and he was Consensus All-American. Sadly, he lost the Heisman race to Reggie Bush in 2005. This led to a Rose Bowl game with USC and Texas where the Trojans had 2 Heisman winners on offense. Young and the Longhorns would defeat them to become the 2005 BCS National Champions. Young had 467 total offensive yards, scoring three rushing TDs, including the go-ahead game-winner.

Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
Photo Credit: Wisconsin Athletics

2.  Melvin Gordon III

Gordon III was a tremendous running back for the Wisconsin Badgers from 2011 to 2014. He’d get the start his final two years with the team. In his junior year, he rushed for 1,609 yards and 12 TDs. Gordon then exploded his senior year, rushing for 2,587 yards and 29 TDs, along with 153 receiving yards and three TDs.

Photo Credit: NBC 15

Gordon also took part in back to back Big Ten Championships in 2011 & 2012. However, 2014 was his year in which he was named First-Team All-Big Ten & a Unanimous All-American. He’d also win the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Award and the Doak Walker Award. Sadly, he somehow finished second in the Heisman race.  Gordon is clearly one of the best players who never won the Heisman Trophy.

Deshaun Watson, Clemson
Photo Credit: NCAA

1. Deshaun Watson 

The brilliant player who is Watson may be proving he’s an amazing player with the Houston Texans, but we all knew from watching him play with the Clemson Tigers. Watson played for Clemson from 2014 to 2016, however, he started all of 2015 & 2016. In 2015, he put up solid numbers with 4,109 passing yards and 35 TDs with 1,105 rushing yards and 12 TDs.

Photo Credit: Chicago Sun Times

In 2016, he’d pass for 4,593 yards and 41 TDs with 629 rushing yards and nine TDs. For his 2015 campaign, he’d win the ACC Player of the Year & Offensive Player of the Year as well as be named a Consensus All-American. For both seasons, he was named the ACC Athlete of the Year and won both the Davey O’Brien & Manning Awards twice. In 2016, he and the Tigers won in the College Football Playoff National Championship in heart-stopping fashion against the Alabama Crimson Tide as well.